Monday, May 10, 2021

NDC MPs Will Not Chair Committees In Parliament – Kyei-Mensah Bonsu

Kyei-Mensah Bonsu

The Majority leader in Parliament, Osei Kyei-Mensah-Bonsu has disclosed that the National Democratic Congress (NDC) MPs won’t be able to chair Committees in Parliament.

According to the Hon. Osei Kyei-Mensah-Bonsu, all Committees to be constituted by Parliament will be chaired by members of the Majority Group.

The legislator for the Suame constituency quizzed; “On what account does the NDC wants to chair the various Committees?”

Be A Man

NDC MPs hijack majority side of Parliament ahead of dissolution

“For purposes of transacting businesses if the person (Fomena MP) joins, that is it. You should go into history to see what happened. In 2009, after the election, Parliament was to be sworn in, the NDC had 114 members.

“The number at the time was 230, they didn’t have a majority. They were joined by other parties and independent members to cross the 115 barrier and that made them the Majority Caucus, for which reason they chaired all committees in the House. What is different now?” he added.

The NPP lawmaker reposited that the ratio in Parliament is not 137 to 137 but rather 138 to 137 since the Fomena MP, Hon Andrew Amoako Asiamah joined their side.

Share your thought below;

error: Alert: Content is protected !!