Ronaldo, Messi, Mbappe, four others nominated for FIFA Player of the Year

Cristiano Ronaldo and Lionel Messi are close to mounting the podium for a record 12 consecutive season.

Cristiano Ronaldo, Lionel Messi, Mbappe and seven other players have been nominated for the FIFA Player of the Year award for 2018.

Cristiano Ronaldo is the favourite to defend his crown, having helped Madrid to a third consecutive UEFA Champions League title and even scored 17 goals in the process to emerge as the top scorer of the

He scored four goals including a hat-trick against Spain in the 2018 FIFA World Cup, but Portugal exited the tournament in the round of 16.

Lionel Messi had a fruitful domestic campaign. He won both the La Liga and the Copa Del Rey. In addition he won the league’s goal king.

However, the Barcelona talisman, struggled to hit the back of the net in the FIFA World Cup 2018, registering just a goal, as Argentina packed out of the tournament in the round of 16.

France, the World Champions produced the highest number of players for the FIFA Player of the Year.

Kylian Mbappe, the 19-year-old darling boy of French football who scored four goal and emerged as the Young Player of the Tournament, 2018 FIFA World Cup is in the list.

As well as his strike partner, Antoine Griezman, who also registered four goals in the mundial and won the bronze ball of the tournament.

Raphael Varene, the only defender to break into the list. He was virtually the best in his position in the 2018 World Cup, coupled with his exploit as Real Madrid won the UEFA Champions League.

Luka Modric, who would have been highly tipped for the award if he had won the FIFA World Cup with Croatia. He was instrumental in helping Real Madrid win the UEFA Champions league and he also inspired Croatia to a second place finish and subsequently won the best player award of the 2018 FIFA World Cup.

Below is the full list of nominees:

Cristiano Ronaldo

Kevin De Bruyne

Antoine Griezmann

Eden Hazard

Harry Kane

Kylian Mbappe

Lionel Messi