ELECTION 2020: EC Disqualifies 5 Presidential Aspirants


Madam Jean Mensa, Chairperson of the Electoral Commission has disqualified five presidential aspirants from contesting in the December 7 polls earlier today, October 19, 2020.

In a press conference held in Accra, the Chairperson for the Commission explained the five persons were qualified.

According to her, the commission detected some cases of forgery of signatures and the manufacturing of endorsees.

Here are the names of the five disqualified aspirants;

1. Kofi Koranteng,
2. Marricke Kofi Gane
3. Akwasi Odike of the United Progressive Party (UPP)
4.Kwesi Busumburu of the People’s National Party (PNP)
5. Agyenim Boateng of United Front Party’s (UFP)

But the commission has explained that the GHS100,000 filing fee will be refunded to the said candidates in line with the rules surrounding the process.

However, the commission has cleared 12 other aspirants to contest in the December 7 polls.

Ghana Writer
the authorGhana Writer